Brand new to PLCs and RSLogix

KipStewart

Hi. I’m a retired SW engineer trying to modify a Microlinx 1200 program. I’m using RSLogix 500 starter. I’m brand new to PLCs and the Rockwell tools and have a few beginner questions. (I would experiment but I currently have no access to the PLC, and when I do, it will be very limited.)

1) When I download the program, is it stored in flash? i.e. will it survive when I unplug the cable? Will it survive a power failure on the PLC?

2) I know I have to configure the driver using RSlinx. After doing this, Do I need to manually run RSlinx before downloading, or is it automatically started and called when I select “download” in RSLogix?

3) I’m confused about examining data files while the PLC is running. Does RSLogix stop the scan to read the data files? If it does, then does it then automatically resume the scanning?

Thanks
Kip

1) When I download the program, is it stored in flash? i.e. will it survive when I unplug the cable? Will it survive a power failure on the PLC?

Yes, it will hold the program. You can also install a memory module just in case.

2) I know I have to configure the driver using RSlinx. After doing this, Do I need to manually run RSlinx before downloading, or is it automatically started and called when I select “download” in RSLogix?

RSLinx will start automatically, but I always like to start it manually just to make sure communications are working properly. My personnel preference.

3) I’m confused about examining data files while the PLC is running. Does RSLogix stop the scan to read the data files? If it does, then does it then automatically resume the scanning?

Monitoring the program online will not stop it from running. It will continue to scan.

Mickey,
Thanks for the answers.
What is the value added of the memory module if the PLC already "holds" the program? Is it just more memory, or does it have some additional funcionality over the built-in memory?