“PID Help Micrologix 1200”

Opening post
Greetings All J
Its been a while since I have been on. Someone hacked my email account and was able to create some serious havoc on me. I had to create a new user on the forum because of it. Never the less I have still been reading all the great informative post, but now it is time to post my own.
I currently have a waste treatment project that I am working on. It was kind of shoved my way if you will, in the name of trying to save money. This is my first project working with PID loops and I have to say it’s kicking me around. I have read many posts, on this forum from a lot of the experts here but still I am having issues. I think I need some help at this point. I have worked with analog for speed references and valve positioning but I have never programmed a PID before.
I am going to try and supply all the information required so that you may have a good picture. Also more importantly maybe I can leave something behind here for the next guy to find and it may help his journey too.
PROCESS DESCRIPTION
1. Intent of control system is to limit the influent flow of industrial waste (IW) from the equalization (EQ) tank to the Dissolved Air Flotation (DAF) tank to 25 gpm but if the EQ tank becomes full override the control valve to a full open position.
2. Influent Sump Pump from the factory is operated by an on/off level float( high and low floats) with an internal dead-band to prevent short cycling.
3. On rising level on the Influent Sump Pump, the Influent Sump Pump turns on and fills the EQ tank. At the same time the Feed Pump from the EQ Tank turns on and feeds the waste to the DAF through the Flow Control Valve.
4. As IW flows to the DAF, the magnetic flow meter controls the modulating control valve to a set-point of 25 gpm. On rising level in the EQ tank , FIC-101 will increasingly close the control valve to limit the flow. On falling level, FIC-101 will increasingly open the control valve to maintain the set-point flow.