Omron Zen counter loop

wijden

Hi there.

I'm stuck trying to loop three outputs on a Omron Zen controller. Basically, i need to have the following:

M1->M2->M3->M1->M2 etc.

Each transition is simply triggered by a push button connected to I0

I tried the following:
Zen Loop.png
but can't get better than M1->M2->M3->NO OUTPUT->M1->M2 etc.

Any help would be much appreciated as i'm really new to this controller..
View attachment Zen Loop.zip

Attached file gives you M1 immediately, then each press of I0 gives advance to next M, (M2), then to next M, (M3), then back to the 1st M, (M1), and so on. Basically, it works like this. C1 and C2 Counters Not Done is the 1st condition. C1 Counter Done and C2 Counter Not Done is the 2nd condition. C1 Counter Done and C2 Counter Done is the 3rd condition. C3 Counter Done "Resets" the counters.

Note: When testing this program in Simulator mode, be sure to hold down the Input button at least a couple of seconds for each transition. The Simulator can give false reactions if pressed and released too quickly.

Last edited:
Wijden,

Do you really need 3 counters? Unless you are using the counters elswehere, one will work just as well, and much simpler. The ZEN does have the comparison instructions.

Wijden's Step Program with M1, M2, M3.jpg

Last edited:
Many Thanks guys, both solutions are indeed fine.
My first idea was actually to compare the current value of a single counter to a preset value and to activate a flag accordingly, but i could'nt find where to get that value and thought that the Zen counters doesn't offer such feature.
Many many thanks again, you saved me few hours of googling..

In the ZenSoft software instructions for P Comparator devices I only saw >= and <=, no = only. The counters reset to 0 instead of 1 as in the LogixPro software. I have re-written the program based on Lancie1's concept of using 1 counter and P Comparator instructions.

Lancie1, how to get those function blocks in the zen soft?