DIY Repairing a PLC?

gedds1993

I have been working for my employer for almost two years now. Getting into PLC's right after high school makes me still relatively new to this field. On a side note I will be attending college this fall semester and majoring in electrical engineering with a minor in industrial electronics. I am sure I will be learning much more about this subject in school, but my main question is: Is there anyway to teach yourself how to repair a PLC that has been burnt out or is otherwise not in proper working condition? Also is there any self help on this subject. I understand that this is a completely different field then programming, but I figured it would be beneficial to learn to do. I am also sure it would help further my understanding of PLC's. I am not sure if this question is even possible but I would be very appreciative if anyone can help me. Right now I have an Allen Bradley 1100 torn apart. I know the problem is +-24v power supply on the inputs. Although I do not know what any of the parts are underneath and I am not 100% clear on how to test them. Again I understand that this is probably a task to large for this form and I should just wait till I get my schooling but I would very much enjoy and benefit from being ahead of the game. Pictures of the disassembled 1100 are below.

IMAG0026.jpg IMAG0028.jpg IMAG0029.jpg IMAG0030.jpg

Generally speaking unless you are going to work for a repair house or live in a third world country, it is not economically viable to do repairs to these things. Especially the really low end device you have.

Regardless, can you start by explaining how you came to this conclusion.

"I know the problem is +-24v power supply on the inputs."

What are the symptoms that led you to this conclusion. Understanding that will help narrow the focus so to speak.

People just don't do component level repair anymore. Have you known anyone who tried to repair a computer motherboard lately?