OT: Designing to meet UL Listing Requirements

Steve Etter

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
I am about to begin a project where we will seek UL approval for the machine we are designing and, unfortunately I have no background (yet) for how to get from ground-zero to having an approval-ready design. So here is my question:

Can anyone recommend a method for learning the requirements for developing an electrical design that will cover all the aspects the UL inspectors will be looking for? Are there classes or a handbook I can buy? For those who have done it, how did you get from complete ignorance to become all-knowing?

Any input is appreciated.

Steve[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]

here are a few things you must do.

#1. get UL508A standards, this is the first thing.
#2. for your application, you must build a duplicate control panel. in fact, you will have to build several duplicate control panels. for ul approval, they will require a duplicate control panel, cad drawings, detailed bom and maybe even more. they require this for destructive testing purposes.

there may be a ul testing shop in your area.

it has been to long since i have worked in a ul listed shop and i cannot remember past this.

hope this helps,
james

It all depends upon what standards you are UL listing to. UL508A refers to the control panels only and is fairly simple.

Do you know what standards apply? Is this for the control panels only or the entire machine?

James - Thanks for the reference to the UL508A Standards. As for the testing shop, I am told there is one nearby and that my people have been in contact with them already. The one concern I had with them was knowing up-front how to be prepared in my design process rather than potentially going through some trial and error method.

mflaugh - we will be seeking listing for the entire machine. It is a very simple machine so, hopefully, it will be relatively easy to do. I do not know what standard apply yet.

Steve

Steve,