Uggggh Devicenet help with addressing

JodyM

I have Compactlogix racks with SDN scanner and my first network has 42 nodes all Eaton S811(w/D77D qcport to devicenet adapters) softstarts Eaton Motorinsight overloads and SVX9000 drives. So I am new to the plant just 5 months and the plant is only a year and a half in operation (frac sand) the integration company quit before startup and the controls were piece mielled together by about 7 differant programmers. OK there is the back story, my problem is that I do not understand the IO mapping between the scanner and D77D. I have a softstart that was commisioned then removed after a pump upgrade and was also removed from the scanlist. So I have found it in the network readded it to the scanlist auto mapped IO but I cannot figure out the which bit to write to start the thing. I am totally lost!!!

jody

Welcome to the Forum !

Hopefully you'll approach this cobbled-together system as a learning experience in the technologies and products as well as your own procedures for documentation.

I would start with this by performing a browse with RSNetworx for DeviceNet software, then a "Upload from Network" to get all the configuration parameters and the Scanlist into the *.DNT file.

ZIP that file and post it here.

I am not personally familiar with the S811 Soft Start or the QCPort/DeviceNet adapter, but I'm sure the Forum community can figure it out.

If you can point to a website where the Eaton EDS files are available, that will help too.

Ken
Thanks for your reply, and I loved Dilbert. Yes I am taking the opportunity to learn the technologies already in place that I do not have experience with (just banging my head against the wall on this one)As far as documentation It is a work in progress because we have none. I have attached my dnet file and hopefully someone can help. Even with a RA tech connect contract and all the help from Eaton I am beginning to think I cannot figure this out. Thanks again

Jody