Protool Upload OP17-DP

DamianInRochester

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have an OP 17-DP pn# 6AV3 617-1JC20-0AX1.

Is it possible to upload this with Protool, and if so, is it just an image or can I make development changes to it?

I have never used Protool before, only WinCC.

You need the original project in your PC. What the OP has, isn't the project but only an image of the project.

I have an OP 17-DP pn# 6AV3 617-1JC20-0AX1.

Is it possible to upload this with Protool, and if so, is it just an image or can I make development changes to it?

I have never used Protool before, only WinCC.
Rather old hardware but it may worth a try.
If you have Pro-Tool , you probably have installed Pro-Save.
Use Pro-Save to upload the image and then you can load it on another OP-17 identical to the old one.
As far as development goes, no dice.

Thanks guys. I do not have Pro Tool. I was going to get it a couple years ago, but the Siemens distributor basically said that "Siemens won't sell that anymore". I find this really asinine. How much effort would it take them to put their legacy software online, with no guarantee of support, and let us download it for a fee? If they want to force me to upgrade the hardware, well guess what Siemens, I'm going to choose another Vendor that doesn't make their old software unavailable.

In any event, there are a few software boxes floating around Ebay. This OP17 is on an old Wafios grinder a customer of mine has. They inherited it when one of their satellites closed up, and they did not get any of the original programs. The HMI is in pretty good shape for its age, but obviously they are one good lightning strike away from a long recovery.

I have noticed there is Pro-Tool and Pro-Tool lite. Would Pro-tool lite be all that is required for Pro-save? I did see Pro-save mentioned on another forum while Googling.

Just being able to get an recovery image would be good insurance at this stage.