Unitronics experiences - good - bad

BobB

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have a customer who wants me to use Unitronics PLCs with colour touch screens because they are cheap.

I have no experience with them and I was wondering if any of you have had good/bad experiences with them particularly with respect to reliability , repair and service.

Had a look at the software and the tools are not particularly good but this is pretty normal with free software.

The last experience I had with Israeli electronics was with generator controllers and they were, quite frankly, terrible. Had to replace them with Woodward controllers at the end of the day to get some reliability and repeatability in the system. They failed regularly and were full of bugs. Have shied away from Israeli stuff ever since.

We utilize Unitronics quite a bit. From a hardware standpoint it is actually pretty decent, but you do need be wary of good electrical practices regarding shielding, EMI, etc. Be careful of the conversion times of some of the analog modules, some of them are quite long and may not be suitable for fast processes.

I have read enough of your posts to know you will hate the software. It is very "mouse-centric" and the ladder logic connections are actually drawn ala ACAD. But they do actually have a very good instruction set and they pack a lot of capability in a very small package. They have one of the best price/performance ratios I have seen.

They have a pretty decent support staff and a dedicated forum that they respond to better than many others.

In the forseeable future they will actually be releasing a complete new line of product and software that will be much nicer and the development software will be much easier to use.

Thanks for the comments, I appreciate them. Yes, I dislike the software - very tedious. Fortunately not much in the job and will be repetetive - a standard product so to speak.

Hi,