How many edits does it take?

bbseay

I am affiliated with a Car Wash manufacturer. The automated equipment uses a plc. Is there a cut and dry way to program an automated machine without the program needing to be edited 100 times ? They have been trying to perfect a program for 2+ years now, why is this so hard????? Am I dealing with ameturers or is editing a program over and over common? A few edits I understand but 100+ seems insane. Any comments would be apreciated.

Maybe they are trying to program themselves out of a mechanical problem (or several mechanical problems).

That, or the project wasnt defined well enough to begin with. If that is the case, then it easily happens that the program goes in a wrong direction. It is not usually possible to define the job 100% in advance, but 95% should be possible.
Is this their first car-wash project ?

I've run into a few "programmers" who were totally self taught in the art of programming. The whole idea of developing a flowchart to them is a totally unheard of concept.

Also, in many cases in large originizations theres not true intergrator on the project. The project seems to be broken down into tasks done on the project by different teams that dont fully understand the entire application. Hence you have the job of the intergrater. This guy is supposed to get everybody togeather and develop a flow chart of the sequence of operations. Once the flowchart is done and everybody agrees on it, than you get down to programming.

This all may seem too obivous, but I've seen it happen, resulting in a program, or system that never really works quite right, and requires constant trial and error editing.

Also consider the idea of trying to program around the misapplication of field devices. I've seen some posts here, where the programmer seems to be having a problem attempting to get the results he needs due to the use of the wrong components in the field.