Can anyone help me write a PLC code using Mitsubishi Melsoft GX Developer?

bebenona

I am new to PLC programming and just started a new internship where they are asking me to write a pretty simple program. I am studying Mechanical Engineering and have never had any programming training so I am having a hard time thinking in ladder logic. I know what I need to make the machine do, but it is frustrating not being able to speak it's language.

I need the program to be something like:
  1. I will turn off the emergency stop
  2. I will turn on the on/off switch
  3. These two actions should make a wheel containing parts rotate
  4. A sensor will activate telling it has rotated successfully
  5. When the sensor comes on, a stamper should come down and brand the part.
  6. Then the stamper resets.
  7. Finally the wheel resets.
  8. Everything repeats.
I need to have some kind of safety built in that will stop the program if the wheel does not function properly. If it does not rotate and the sensor does not come, it should stop and NOT stamp.

Last edited:
I do not have the Mitsubishi software, but I could write the program in another brand, such as Allen Bradley RSLogix, Omron ZEN, Siemens S7-200, or Automation Direct DirectSoft. The PLC logic will be similar in all those different software packages.

Yes, please, I would really appreciate that! I think just seeing how the logic works would be a great help to me. Translating it into melsoft shouldn't be too difficult for me after that.

Okay, I will be back in a few minutes. I will post the program here.

EDIT: Here is a LogixPro Simulator program that runs as you described. I had to simulate the sensor by closing and opening I:1/2 at the correct times. The timers are a guess. You will need to adjust the times to match the real operation of your parts wheel and stamper.

Bebenona's Stamper Logic.jpg

Last edited: