100 Space Parking Lot

Vedang Joshi

Hi guys I am completely new to plc programming and I have been trying to make a practice program for a lot that holds 100 cars. A counter must increment/decrement depending on if a car enters/exits. It should display the # cars at all times and show full if the limit is reached. So far I know the following:

I:1/0 = Entrance sensor (Count the number of vehicles entering the lot)
I:1/1 = Exit sensor (Count the number of vehicles leaving the lot)

O:2/0 = Indicate lot is full

I have began the code but I have no idea what to do next. Can anyone help?

Thanks

Welcome to the forum!
To activate the O:2/0 you could use a compare >= to 100 instruction with the 100 coming from the counter accumulator. It would help us to help you if you would tell us what plc brand, model, and software you will be using. Methods vary depending on which platform you are using. It always helps to post what code you have so far. LogixPro from thelearningpit.com is an excellent learning tool.

I:1/0 Counter C5:0
----| |-----------------( Add 1)

I:1/1 Counter C5:0
----| |-----------------( subtract 1)

The counter can be an integer location, or a counter.
It all depends on what type of PLC that you plan to use.

Once you get this figured out, you have to learn about compares.
Don't what to have negative counts or counts greater than 100.
Good luck.

Use a up-counter "CTU" and a down-counter "CTD" with the same address e.g C5:0.

C5:0.ACC is the total cars. Pre-Set is lot full, C5:0.DN turns on the Full indication.

Shows us your work so far. Post the program file here. ( Zip it first)

And welcome to the forum.

Edit: gbradley & jrwb4gbm type faster then I do.

Last edited:
Sounds like a very good learning exercise, because it provides opportunities to add complexity.