CANbus - PC - HMI connection

bgkdavis

I'm having a problem getting a clear answer to what should be a rather simple question!

Basically I have a CANbus network, and I need to connect it to a PC running HMI software (Citect or Wonderware for example).

Now Ive identified some PCI canbus cards (softing), and I can even find PC based HMIs ready fitted with CANbus cards (advantech), but, when I talk to the HMI software suppliers of the HMI hardware suppliers neither can give me a clear answer if they have available drivers for the other!

OPC would appear to be the clear answer, yes most HMI software packages support OPC, but I cant get a clear answer if the PCI cards support it.

Truth is I've had limited experience with OPC, I understand that the concept is you run a server which communicates with the field devices and the HMI software is a client... but does the server need a driver for the PCI card?, is this server software something free or do I need to buy that as well?, should the PCI card manufacturers be providing the server?

The PLC itself comes with an OPC server however I cant see how this will help I imagine the server is designed to work via the PLCs USB or Serial port, so it may be of use for desktop development but not for the field.

As far as PCI cards are concerned Softing looks to be the leading player, but the local supplier just wants to tell us how they have done great projects in the past using this hardware and isn't actually answering the question!

In simple terms what I need is a list of the hardware and software components I need to turn a CANbus network into something readable by the HMI software... preferably without paying through the nose for it!

The HMI will be an OPC Client, not an OPC Server - except for when the HMI provides its tags to another HMI Client buy itself being an OPC Server. The last ting is a bit unusual so you can ignore it.

The OPC Server must be supplied by the same vendor that sells the PCI card for CAN bus.