Logix5000 Resetting Values

Daniel_LeRoy

Lifetime Supporting Member
We use Logix5000 for our machine we manufacture. Sometimes I get a program from the field that someone saved while being online. Now all the values are saved for every bit. A couple of times I have had to go through and manually set every value to zero. Is there an easy way to reset all the values? ?

:site:

Depending on how they're organized, you can do this with some logic (if you can load this program into a "dummy" controller).

COP and FLL instructions come to mind for clearing groups of data. I have done this a timer or two in a PLC, just add a rung to FLL the file with zero or COP 0 to a bunch of words, then test the edit, untest it, then delete the edit, save the file, go back offline...

I think there may be a way to manipulate a file offline to change that data. Doing this offline may require exporting as a certain file type. With RSLogix5000 I have no experience modifying the export files offline, so others would have to fill in the details I am missing.

Reset the values to what? If the program was save while online, what's wrong with the values?

I know you said that you get the program's back from the field and you need to reset all the values well is it possible you have a spare CPU to load the program into and use code to zero that or is the program too small to warrant spending time dong that and you are looking for a way to do this with an offline file?

If you are going to use it in a processor and use code to execute this then I think maybe a FAL instruction could be used but I'm sure someone could confirm that.

Blimey 3 people replied whilst writing my reply, he may need the values to be zero so that if he loads it into a new processor to replace one then it starts off in a correct stage in a sequence etc

robw53- Thats right. I need the machine to start in the right spot, and if certain bits are latched then it will think that certain functions have already taken place.