New Vacuum Furnace Control Information

ceilingwalker

Lifetime Supporting Member
Good day all. I have been tasked with automating a vacuum furnace and unfortunately, I have no experience with vacuum furnaces. Would anyone happen to know what all is needed for such a system. I know of the diffusion pump, vacuum control and sensors and that is about it. I need to take a manual system that is in place now and move it all over to a SLC 500 control. Any information that anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated. I'm kind of partial to the SLC 500, that was my call. The environment the control will be placed in is not something I would put a micro logix nor a Compact Logix in. Control Logix is to pricey. Also will be using Factory Talk for HMI. So that reminds me of another question: for all the analog sensors and valves I will need, if anyone knows of manufacturers that their hardware will interface with a particular SLC 500 module, I would appreciate that info, as well as the specific SLC 500 modules that are used. Thank you for your time.

I would use either a Micrologix or a CompactLogix 10 times before I bought a soon to be silver series product like the SLC.
What makes you think the compact or micro can't handle something and the SLC could?
What vacuum range are you planning on using? How does the system work currently? Can you just take that sequence and automate it?

I've done several vacuum furnaces, both in medium vac (10-3) and high vac (10-7) vacuums.

It is not a project that I recommend for someone who has no experience with vacuum furnaces.

I don't understand why you are using a SLC500 as opposed to a CompactLogix or a MicroLogix, especially since looking at your posts it appears you do have Logix5000 and have used the CompactLogix hardware. A CompactLogix is cheaper than a SLC. A MicroLogix 1400 is as powerful as a SLC5/05 except for IO count. The ML also supports more data types, including a dedicated PID file type.