Scrolling through error msgs in Panelview

hd_coop

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hey everybody,

I am an electrical engineering student with a coop job at a major american manufacturing company. I am currently working on a project where I will need to have any faults which are generated to 'scroll' continuously in 3 second intervals on a Panelview. I will only be a sophomore this fall and have had no formal classes, basically I have taught myself everything I know so far. I have come up with a way that would sort of work using timers only my problem is it would allow a 3 second timer for every msg instead of just the active ones. I am using an AB SLC/503 processor and Panelview 900 mono. Any help or hints would be greatly appreciated seeing as my boss is off this week so I am on my own.

Thanks,
Josh

Well, it sounds like you are half way there, if you have a method of making every msg scroll at a 3 sec. rate. Knowing what I know (from your description) All you should have to do is change your logic to scroll through the active ones......

Give a little better description of what you have so far.

Maybe attach a screen shot of your logic so far or attach the .rss file.

We will need a little more info to help you out! :)

Here is an example in RSLogix 5000.

This example uses FLT6[0] as the alarm input file. These alarms are addressed as bits. Alarm contition 1= FLT6[0].0, The message to be displayed is N6[1], this is an integer. This works with a "Message Display" panelview object. The final product is the integer location of the active bit from FLT6[0].0 I'm sure it is possible, but I have never used this with the built in Panelview alarms.
This scrolls all active alarms for 2 seconds. This might be a bit much if you dont have very many alarms. if you only have a couple words of alarms there would simpler ways to do this. The machine that uses this logic has A LOT of alarms.

Last edited:
Hi hd_coop,