NEWBIE DL 05 question

bgscott

I am very new to plc programming and i am looking for help for a program I am writing to remotely turn on/off an air compressor. I currently have a program written that uses a timer to time an output off after a three second delay. the timer is started by a normally closed contact off of an input, when the input goes low I need the machine to shut off after three seconds. Currently to turn on my output I have a rung of logic that has (timer not equal to zero) anded to (timer is less than 3 seconds) this is ored to a normally open contact that pulls in with the input. so the normally open contact holds the output closed until the contact opens, then the timer starts timeing and the first rung described above locks in the output for three extra seconds and then the output goes off. the problem is there is sometimes a "flap" of the contact caused by it taking one extra scan to read that the timer is not zero (I assume). what is the correct way to time off an output to get rid of this momentary change of state??

BgScott,

Can you post your code? You can do a screen print, paste it to MSpaint and save it to a jpg file, then attach it using the Browse button in the "post reply" page.

thanks for the help, and thanks for the info on how to post, I am a first timer at this.

unfortunately Direct Logic PLC's do not have an off delay timer. on the base models they only give you a timer that times and a counter that counts, it is then up to the programmer to come up with on delay, off delay, and that sort of thing. I am stuck trying to figure out how to get an off delay.

My logic needs one input and two outputs. output one needs to be high when the input is high, and needs to go low immediatley when the input goes low. it needs to stay low for a few seconds and then go back high until the input does an high low transition again.