Program Help

AutoNub

Hello,

I've used PLCs in the past to perform very basic ladder logic, but I've never used one for a 4-20 mA output to drive a pump before. My pump takes a 4-20 mA signal to adjust the flow rate, but I need the Allen Bradley Micrologix 1200 (model L40BWA series C) with the analog module 1762-IF20F2 to creat the 4-20 mA output to the pump.

I'm having a little difficulty figuring out how to get the 4-20mA output. I have 24Vdc powering my PLC, and wires connected from out 8 and out 9 to the analog module at terminals IN 0 (+) and IN 0 (-). I'm not sure yet but I think this wiring is correct... although the outputs of the PLC might not matter (the 1762-IF20F2 instruction file says the 4-20mA corresponds to bits 8 and 9, but I don't recall if there's any correlation between the bits and the actual terminals).

I believe the thing I'm missing here is the actual code necessary to give 4-20 mA control. I'm aware of the PID function, but I've never used it before. I'm not sure I should use it here because under Module Adv Config for a Data Format I've selected "Raw/Proportional" rather than "Scaled for PID."

If someone could show me the code or instructions necessary to create a 4-20 mA output it would be very much appreciate. I believe I need to vary a 0-10V output from the PLC to the analog expansion module so the module can in turn output a proportional 4-20 mA signal to the pump. Please correct me if I'm wrong and if possible, explain how I can achieve this goal.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

1. Disconnect those wires, you haven't referenced inputs so don't worry about these.

2. Assuming you are using the first output wire "I Out 0" to the + side of your load. Wire the - side of your load to "COM"