Metering Pump control with a flow meter

VIRUZIE

Hello, I have this project that I need to connect a flow meter (http://www.powogaz.com.pl/pliki/prod...l_K_52_420.pdf ) to control a metering pump from prominent gamma/ L Solenoid Diaphragm Metering Pump type).

The problem is that I need to program using Allen bradley rslogix 500 or 5000 plc for the flow meter to stop the pump let say after every 10 litres of flow. I guess the flow meter gives pulse so I could connect it to a digital input.
I do not have much experience in PLC programming and I would be glad if somebody can help me with an idea on how I should go about with the program.

I have no knowledge about metering pumps but this is what I am suppose to use: http://www.prominentfluid.com.au/upl...ng%20Pumps.pdf

Your comments are welcome.

I work with systems similar to this. We use them to control additive injection into gasoline and diesel. If you have a flow meter you really dont need to use a metering pump. You could use a standard pump, a meter and a solenoid to do this. Might save some money in the process as metering pumps are expensive.

To use the meter pulse, you will need a PLC that has a high speed DC input. All the Micrologix PLC's have high speed inputs on the DC input models so that is not a issue.

As for the PLC I/O You will need a digital input (DI) to count the meter pulses. A DI for a pump start command. A digital output (DO) to start the pump. It you use a solenoid you will need one more DO for it.

Programming: You will need to set up a High Speed Counter (HSC) in RsLogix. I would have it reset every time it counts to 1Liter. Every time the HSC resets you can add a 1 to a integer file (N7). This will keep track of the total number of liters you have run through the meter.

Set up a DO to close and start the pump when you get a DI. The meter will start counting and when the N7 file equals the number of liters you need to deliver you can stop the pump by opening the DO.