Beckoff Twincat interaction with .NET

jllowrey

Hello,

I am a robotics engineering student. I have recently been put on to an older project that is driven with twincat using a beckoff PLC. Just a little background this is a robot with a differential drive which we are hooking up to a kinect(vision system) in order to navigate and move the robot. We are doing this with a seperate software called MRDS Microsoft Robotic Development studio. MRDS communicates to various sensors and motors with DSS using .NET framework.

My question is how do I make my twincat a service in .NET. I want to be able to read and write values to my motors and encoders. I am not familiar with twincat and do not have a lot of time.

-If you think you have a solution or could help me that would be greatly appreciated. Post here or send me an email at [email protected]. (I will read my email first)

Thanks,
-Jeremy

I have no experience with that, but I've been told that this is fairly easy, using ADS. Google for 'Beckhoff ADS read', or go to the beckhoff site and check their huge online information section.

Not sure what a .net "service" means, haven't done that.

A few references:
"Exchange variable between C# and TwinCat working kinda slow?" on LinkedIn TwinCAT Developers forum.

Beckhoff .net examples:
http://infosys.beckhoff.com/espanol...phi/html/webservice_delphi_8_net.htm&id=10060
(link is a little off, but gets you close).

Some code snipets from my VB.net code. The formatting and colors get corrupted here. Good luck.

Try' connect to PLC
tcClient = New TcAdsClient()
tcClient.Connect("192.168.0.30.1.1", 801) ' establish connection to PLC via AMS address.

Sub ResetPLC()
tcClient.WriteControl(New StateInfo(AdsState.Reset, tcClient.ReadState().DeviceState)) ' to be safe, reset PLC
tcClient.WriteControl(New StateInfo(AdsState.Run, tcClient.ReadState().DeviceState)) ' restart PLC code from top
EndSub