PLC with stepper motor driver

suzusku

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie here and I have a question that I have been trying hard to find an answer.
Currently I have a Keyence plc (transistor output) that I wished to control the stepper motor driver. The driver has 3 particular terminals namely "step", "dir" and "gnd". I understand that I'm supposed to input pulses into the step and dir but how does it really work?

Do I input digital pulses to the "step" to ramp motor up/down?
What about dir? Input 0 to turn ccw and 1 to turn cw?

appreciate any help please!

You did not mention what stepper drive you are using, but generally they all work the same way.
The direction signal is typically ON for one direction of rotation and OFF for the opposite direction. Which direction that actually is (CW or CCW) depends on the drive, motor, and wiring.
The step signal is a pulse train which determines the motor speed. The faster the pulses are, the faster the motor goes. The drive will typically have switch settings for the number of pulses per revolution. If the drive is set for 2000 pulses per revolution, you must issue 2000 pulses to turn the motor 1 turn.

Also keep in mind that you need a PLC with "high speed output" functionality. This goes beyond just having transistor outputs; the controller needs special hardware that allows the output to pulse independent of PLC scan time, typically in the kHz or even MHz range.

Thanks for the help guys. The plc I'm using is Keyence and the driver is schmalzHaus easy driver. Keyence plc pulse output can reach frequency up to 50khz. I believed its consider good enough for my app right? I dun need fast speed for my app.

Another thing is that can I tap voltage from 24v main power supply to my easydriver? My plc is also tapping from the supply. Has anyone tried using plc on a easydriver? It shouldn't have any issue right?