Keypad Question

HoldenC

First off, I want to say I am fairly new to PLC's. I took a couple college classes and read a couple books. I believe i have a fairly good understanding for the most part.

Here is the question :

Say you have a manufacturing plant, with a few hundred motors. All motors are given numbers from say 100-400. You have 1 STOP button, 1 START button, and a keypad. How could you start or stop any one of the motors with those controls ?

There is a auto-start sequence to start everything in order, but im talking about only shutting off one motor.

Hope my question was clear.

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

Is there some visualization of what you tap in with the pad? A screen? A display? Evt 300 LEDs? Then it is no problem.

What PLC type do you use?

Kalle

If you don't have a visu, you could type 123+start and 123+stop, a start, stop, 000 or any invalid number must reset the number register. But it is not wise to do it like this, not having a feedback of what is registered in the controller. Kkkeypad ripriprppllplle.

Last edited:
You have 1 STOP button, 1 START button, and a keypad. How could you start or stop any one of the motors with those controls ?
If the keypad is a HIM control module hooked to a Variable Frequency Motor drive for each of the 300 motors, then all you need to do is press the RUN or STOP button on the keypads.

Is this a test question? It seems to lack some critical details for a real plant.

Yes, the keypad has a 3 digit read out at the top.

The keypad is set up like this:

1 2 3
4 5 6
7 8 9
B 0 B

The B stands for blank key.

We are using AB PLC5

No test question here. I just worked at a place before that had this set up.

Does this keypad have a software program that allows programming using PLC tags? If so, you could make one of the blank buttons a Start input key for a motor number from 100 to 400, and the other a Stop key for stopping any motor from 100 to 400.

Im sorry. I think i explained things badly.