Help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thecog

I got a problem. I have been an aviation electrician for 30 years. I was laid off from Boeing in April of 2003. During my interviews for new jobs, they keep asking me about PLC's. I know what they are i guess, but what am i supposed to tell them about PLC's and about Allen Bradley SLC500 series PLC's in particular. Anybody know a good web site i can check these darn things out? Anyhelp will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Dave

The Cog,

I like you username!

Anyway you can start by clicking on "learn PLCs" at the top of this page. This will give you some real basic stuff. The AB guys here will surly post their favorite links soon. But a well written PLC manual can be found here . This is not Allen Bradly, but they are good manuals for beginners to get the basics down.

Good luck,

Mike

Dave

Sorry about your situation; I was laid off from General Dynamics 12 years ago, the same week I closed on my new home.

Tell your prospective employer the truth since it's ultimately gonna come out anyway. BUT, dig into as much research as you can, including this site, and soak up as much as you can. I initially got into PLCs because an employer gave me a chance to learn, not because I already knew how to work with them. Learning with a seasoned programmer was the best way for me to learn and maybe you can have the same good fortune.

Good luck.

As an adjunct, or until you can lay hands on a PLC manual, track down a basic book on computers/electronics. What you're looking for specifically is numbering systems (binary, octal, hex, BCD), digital logic, and boolean algebra. A knowledge of these things will smooth the way into the PLC world.

Good luck!

Thanks for the reply. I am up on everything else like that. Been an electronics tech for most of that time also. I know how they work, know systems, troubleshooting and all, just short on vernacular, and lingo is basiclly it. Thanks