ControlLogix to 1771 Analog IO

rollie715

Before I start, let me say I have very little experience using ControlLogix, but have lots of experience programming PLC5's and SLC500's.

I'm in the process of upgrading some PLC5's to ControlLogix processors and have read numerous threads on the subject. Phase 1 of this project will likely involve replacing only the processor and reusing the existing remote 1771 racks and 1794 Flexio. My immediate concerns are how best to handle the Analog module messaging.

We curently have about 36 analog cards consisting of various:
1771-OFE2
1771-IFE/C
1771-IXEB
1794-OF4I
1794-IF4I

My initial thoughts were to retain the RIO "blue hose", but have read some comments on using ControlNet.

I already have a 1756-DHRIO which if I use, it looks like my analog configuration messaging would all be done in the processor. I have heard that the ControlLogix processor has a limitation on how many message blocks it can handle. What is the cause of this limitation? If it is performance, can I slow down the access speed and fully support all my 36 analog cards?

I've also heard of using a 1756-RIO where the message blocks are kept inside the RIO module and don't burden the processor. Would a single RIO handle all 36 modules in this configuration?

What about ControlNet? Is this a good option to replace the RIO? How is the analog messaging done over ControlNet? Is it the same as RIO or are the message table done separately similar to the 1756-RIO?

The ControlLogix processor is a 1756-L63 B

Thank you for your responses.

Rollie Raper
Process Control Designer
Absorption Corp

Last edited: