Electrical knowledge

aryaf

So I'm a new grad and I'm learning my way through automation as I land in different projects. However, as an electrical engineering graduate, it bothers me a lot that I almost have no idea what electricians are talking about. My knowledge of practical electrical design is very little. I'm picking things up as I go along obviously but it's really getting under my skin.

Is there a way for me to learn practical aspects of electrical design and troubleshooting as it relates to automation? Let's say the goal is to design and implement a PLC panel from scratch. Any books/courses etc?

I obviously have the fundamental knowledge and I can figure things out once specific issues pop up but I want to know what the hell the electrician is talking about when I have to troubleshoot an electrical issue.

I understand how you feel. I started working in industry in January 2011 and graduated in EE in May 2011. I felt the same as you when i started. I had little to no idea how to read electrical schematics or how most things worked. But with time (and it doesn't take as long as you may think), you'll catch on and know what the electricians are talking about. Best advice i can give you is be vocal and ask questions. If there is something you don't understand, ask questions, even if you get laughed at.

Remember, that piece of paper we worked 4+ years to get doesn't mean we know everything. It means we should have the ability to learn anything.

Unfortunately if you want to learn the electrician trade, you should have started with that first, then did the EE schooling. The problem is that electricians are so paranoid and turf-protective (I was an electrician and a EE so can talk about it now) that they won't give an EE the time of day, much less any help. Unfortunate, but that is the way it is in most places.

Last edited: