Pulling Modbus Registers from MC600

krakenfan69

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have a project where I need to add logic to pull the Modbus registers from a General Monitors MC600. The project is in RSLogix 500 on a ML1400. It gets 6 Gas detectors wired directly to the MC600 then it pulls info from the device in the form of Modbus registers. I have no experience with Modbus (I've only been working in the industry since last November.) Could someone please point me in the right direction for some info on accomplishing this? I have searched online but the search returns are huge and often irrelevant. Any good relevant info out there?

I would appreciate any nudge in the right direction.

Kraken Fan #69

I presume you are going to use Modbus RTU over Serial RS-485 to communicate with the General Monitors MC600?

Stu....

The first thing you have to know/decide is which unit is going to be the Server/Slave and which unit is going to be the Client/Master.

I would guess the ML-1400 is going to be the Client/Master and the MC600 will the Server/Slave.

Once you know that, set up the Channel you are going to use appropriately as the Modbus Master or Slave.

Next, set up a Message(s) Instruction for that Channel and set it to read the Registers (Presumably 40000 Holding Registers) into a local Data Table.

The Manual covers this fairly well.

Instruction Reference:

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/rm/1766-rm001_-en-p.pdf

User Manual:

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/rm/1766-rm001_-en-p.pdf

Stu....

There's a lot of information over at www.modbus.org about the protocol, and I refer to the Modbus protocol spec documents often when I do a Modbus project.

http://www.modbus.org/specs.php

One of the first things to learn is that the first digit of a Modbus address is like a file type signifier; "4" is like a "N-register" in the A-B world.