How to set up a heart beat monitor between RSLogix 5000 and Panel View Plus 1500

jeramiah

To All,

Please help,

I am new to Rockwell automation and normally use Siemens, I am trying to finish up a program and now need to use a "Heart Beat" signal to throw an alarm if the panelview drops communication.

What logic do i need to write to make this happen?
I have looked and have found nothing to guide me and this code is different than Siemens.

I am using ladder logic to write my code.

Thank you all

To All,

Please help,

I am new to Rockwell automation and normally use Siemens, I am trying to finish up a program and now need to use a "Heart Beat" signal to throw an alarm if the panelview drops communication.

What logic do i need to write to make this happen?
I have looked and have found nothing to guide me and this code is different than Siemens.

I am using ladder logic to write my code.

Thank you all
Well, the simple-most way to do it is to use the Remote Time feature, and have the Panelview send the PLC it's 'MINUTES' or 'SECONDS'..to an unused register.
Then, the PLC can simply watch that register for a lack of data changing.

The other direction is a bit more difficult. I've done it with a little color-changing graphic on each screen, using a bit that the PLC changes every so often (3-6 seconds). Be careful not to change the bit on an even multiple of the screen refresh time (!).

Others may have nifty tricks, using GSV and the like.

These ^^^^^ are just simple.

I use the "Remote Time" feature as well.

Go to the Global Connections item in the FactoryTalk View project organizer, and look at the first tab, "Date and Time".

The first 7 fields are values from the PanelView's internal clock that it will write to tags in the PLC. I enter a tag for "Second:", named something like "HMI_Watchdog_Seconds", and set up the Date and Time Output Interval for 2 seconds.