what do have to know?

gtcolmenero

As a instrument electrical designer I am interested in doing PLC programming. I have a background in computer systems as pertains to the IT world, sach as networking, database design, document management, pc hardware development, infrastructure management, capital infrastructure projects, PDS (Plant Design Systems) as pertains to design engineering, certified electronics tech. Would this type of background make for a better transition over to PLC programming? Or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Your the man. to an extent. A good PLC programmer should understand the application, (machine and interfaces, safety issues etc).

For example I design PLC based controllers for elevators. Before I was allowed to even think of doing this I had to complete the entire Apprenticeship Program, and become a Licensed Elevator Mechanic, and Certified in elevator repair & installiation by NEEIP (The National Elevator Industry Educational Program). After I had a thourogh grasp on the application, and the ANSI 17.1 elevator code, then I was let loos to program PLCs for elevator control.

There are a lot of really smart programmers on this forum that use the same components that I use, that wouldnt have any idea where to start building and elevator controller, any more that I would know where to start building the equipment they specilize in.

It seems you have a strong background for understanding PLCs and may make a great programmer. But choose the applications your programming for carefully, and make sure you have a thorough understanding of the safety issues involved etc..

Good Luck with it!

Mike

P.S. here's a good link for you to check out:http://claymore.engineer.gvsu.edu/~jackh/books/plcs/

Last edited:
HI
Its look like you have good background for PLCs.
There is two issues left.
1.To know PLCs and understand how they work and how to program them.
(very easy)