New to PLC - Where to Start?

plcplcplc

Hello Everyone,

I have spent a reasonable amount of time browsing these forums, however I wanted more direct answers to my questions.

I have no background in PLC, but I wish to learn as much as I can. I went to school for Mechanical Engineering and took a few classes on controls. The classes I took used MATLAB and Simulink (block diagrams).

These are my questions:

1) What resources are the best places to start? I bookmarked several websites that give a general introduction to PLC.
http://engineeronadisk.com/V2/book_PLC/engineeronadisk.html
http://www.plcdev.com/
http://www.mikroe.com/old/books/plcbook/plcbook.htm
http://www.plcs.net/contents.shtml

2) Which books are helpful/necessary (if any)? Are the PLCS.net store resources up to date?

3) Is it worth going back to school to learn about PLCs? If so, which programs give the best value?

4) How can I become marketable to employers who need PLC programmers/engineers? What skill sets do I need to develop?

Thank you for taking the time to read my questions and I look forward to your responses.

Thanks,
Alex

Welcome to the forum.

when i went to school, my classmates wanted to know why i took mechanical courses and other subjects. i told them that industry was wanting an electrical engr who had mechanical knowledge, could do wiring, wasn't afraid to get dirty helping the mechanics install a line.

i got laughed at, alot.
28 years later, their not laughing.

i still think along that line, mechanical engineers as well can fit in.

in my opinion, here is what you can do.
as was already suggested, go to vocational school.
i would start with industrial maintenance, industrial wiring.
then pick up the plc progamming. then go into the desigh part of it. doing it this way, you will start to put parts of the puzzle together.