General PLC HELP PLEASE!!

plcnewb123

Hey everyone I am very new to the use of PLCs and was performing a simple solar experiment for one of my courses and am kind of lost. My experiment is to take a solar photovoltaic panel, (simple cheap panel) and connect it to a PLC to control a valve opening or closing output. It sounds simple, but I am unsure of the inputs (solar being a DC input? would it be Watts or Voltage or Amperage?) also the outputs and where to start even with what to purchase. I was told CLICK is good and cheap, with free software. So far I was going to purchase the CLICK PLC CPU (http://www.automatio...nits/C0-00DD1-D) , not sure if i need a sink or source dc output yet (another question...) with the following power supply (http://www.automatio...upplies/C0-01AC)...

So basically I was wondering if anyone would be willing to point me in the right direction with this project with any advice, links, additional purchases, etc.. and maybe clarify what my input and outputs and program would look like.

sorry for so many questions I am just very new and am having trouble finding any information online with this type of project.

Thanks

Hey everyone I am very new to the use of PLCs and was performing a simple solar experiment for one of my courses and am kind of lost. My experiment is to take a solar photovoltaic panel, (simple cheap panel) and connect it to a PLC to control a valve opening or closing output. It sounds simple, but I am unsure of the inputs (solar being a DC input? would it be Watts or Voltage or Amperage?) also the outputs and where to start even with what to purchase. I was told CLICK is good and cheap, with free software. So far I was going to purchase the CLICK PLC CPU (http://www.automatio...nits/C0-00DD1-D) , not sure if i need a sink or source dc output yet (another question...) with the following power supply (http://www.automatio...upplies/C0-01AC)...