PLC Noob with questions

tactical

Background: I have no prior experience programming PLC, but I did take some programming in college along with a circuits class, So I do know a little bit I guess.

I was given a project at work and basically what I need to do is the following:

We measure oil cleanliness with particle counters every minute of everyday. What I need to do is read in the oil cleanliness value to a PLC real time and then graph it. Every new value that is read in is added to the graph. My company uses Allen Bradley, so this needs to be done using RSLogix. Is this even possible? Is it complex?

Thanks in advanced!

If that is all you are doing and nothing more I would recommend instead some sort of PC based data collection reading the devices directly with a product like this

http://www.advantech.com/products/RS-485-I-O-Modules-ADAM-4000/sub_1-2MLKHT.aspx

That in combination with maybe Archie's Advanced HMI would probably be all you would require.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=42656

Since you are not "controlling" anything the PLC will be overkill. If all you really care about is graphing it the PLC will just be one more needless step between you and the data.

If that is all you are doing and nothing more I would recommend instead some sort of PC based data collection reading the devices directly with a product like this

http://www.advantech.com/products/RS-485-I-O-Modules-ADAM-4000/sub_1-2MLKHT.aspx

That in combination with maybe Archie's Advanced HMI would probably be all you would require.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=42656

Since you are not "controlling" anything the PLC will be overkill. If all you really care about is graphing it the PLC will just be one more needless step between you and the data.

Thank you for your response. I failed to mention that I would like there to be buttons where you can start and stop to particle counter and also reset the graph. Can this still be done without a PLC?