S7-300 Average Array Values inside of instance fb

minerman

Hello,

Using LAD, how can I generate an array of 50 numbers and then calculate an average of them?

I don't know how to define an array as a local stat variable. Also, is there an fb that I can use to calculate an average of all the elements in an array?

Edit: I guess I should be more specific with my problem. I am having trouble indirectly accessing an array element. I want to fill the array with numbers, but I can't figure out in LAD, how to go to ARRAY[my_array_element_variable].

Thanks!

Last edited:
Indirect access using LAD not possible - you will have to call an FC (written in STL) that will read/write your array data.

Thanks. I have since searched the internet and discovered that this is the only possibility.

Unfortunately I have no experience in STL, so I am trying to learn.

There is one basic thing about STL that I do not understand.

Do you have to use jumps to group commands? For example, if I want to check a bool value and if its true, set two ints to 0, is the example below valid or do I have to use a jump?

A #my_bool_value
L 0
L 0
T #my_first_int
T #my_second_int

Indirect access using LAD not possible - you will have to call an FC (written in STL) that will read/write your array data.
Yes, but I have a library of FCs that do simple indirect addressing.
http://deltamotion.com/peter/S7/S7ug.zip
I wrote these because a lot of my customers don't like to program in STL.

These FCs are not as efficient as doing the whole AVG FC in in STL but they are simple.

Thanks.

I figure I'm doing myself a favor if I learn the STL. But, I'm definitely struggling.

I don't understand why the T statement is invalid (I have already defined the ints and array of ints):
Code:
      A     #SPM_Timer_Done
      JCB   L33A
      JU    L33B

L33A: L     #S_Counter
      T     #S_Count_Array[#S_Count_Array_Pos]

L33B: NOP   0

Last edited:
There is no array indexing unless you use SCL