Removed "Do Not Remove Battery" in an AB Micrologix 1500..Doh!

ewbradford

Everyone,

Hi, my name is Eric and I am an Engineer with a golf company in California. I know absolutely zero about the Micrologix 1500 component in my machine that is currently not working. We tried to turn on the recently moved machine and are unable to have the software boot up. We can get to the settings page of the software to change options such as nodes, CRC error prompts, etc, but are unable to understand what (if anything) needs to be changed.

What you need to know about the problem we have:

1) We recently moved the equipment containing the micrologix 1500 and it has been unpluged for well over 3+ weeks. Also, no temporary battery was installed by the now out-of-business engineering design company that built the machine and software.

2) My coworker saw that the 1500 showed a low battery light signal on the 1500.

3) He/We removed the only battery that we saw installed. (the one that in the Allen Bradley 1764 Manual on page B-2 says "DO NOT REMOVE THE PERMANENT BATTERY!). They definitely do not want you to remove that! This was done before finding the manual.

4)The negative terminal was left in the board and the positive terminal was removed with the battery (we think completely from the board, but it is hard to tell within the battery compartment space).

My questions are these:

a) Is there a way to remove the board from the plastic housing of the Micrologix 1500? If so, then we might be able to solder a new permanent battery into place, install the plastic housing back on the board, install the newly purchased temporary battery, and then turn on the machine to see if the software is not corrupted or missing.

b) Even with the 2 new batteries, is there still a possibility of the software being lost forever? Is the software even stored on this 1500 device? Is what is stored (maybe)on this device transferrable to a new MicroLogix 1500 device?