New Proface to SLC 5/05 Problems

Scott01

Hello all,

i recently got some good info from SThompson about the communication between Proface ST401 and AB SLC 5/05.
I now have a new issue that i can't seem to find a fix for. The ST401 increments values for some integers when nothing is being changed at the touchscreen (keypad input). other times it just ignores the new keypad input and puts whatever number (usually 8) in the register. also, i made a HMI practice screen and small SLC program completely different from the one previously loaded. I transferred the screen to the ST401 and downloaded the program to the PLC, all seemed ok. when i went online with the PLC and looked at the N7 registers they were all wonky with the same numbers and incrementing as the previous program. any ideas?

What happens if you disconnect the Proface and then monitor the SLC, do the registers still go "wonky". This would at least tell you where the problem is.

Note: I'm not a Proface user.

please zip up the Proface program and I'll have a look at it.
@Mickey it is a direct interface so will work almost the same as a PV+
this sounds as though there is a DINT or SINT with out the needed seperation

Iant, here is the original program for the Proface. The problem started with this one so I thought it would be the one to look at. i think i figured out how to attach a file so here goes. It was written with ProPBWin C-Package03 if that helps.

Iant,
I guess i should acquire a copy of GP-Pro EX then. but anyway, you mentioned "this sounds as though there is a DINT or SINT with out the needed seperation". What is/are DINT & SINT? Also the incrementing I mentioned happens at one minute intervals. Every minute the value at N7:5 increments by 1 and affects the values at N7:6 and N7:7. I understand you are unable to open and look at this program but what kinda strange does this sound like to you?

what i am refering to is the compact logix format - but the fault is the same.