powerflex 4 fault

type7

Hi, I have two identical motors other than one is a Leeson and the other is a Baldor. The Leeson's bearings went out and I replaced it with a new Baldor. After a few seconds the VFD shows a fault 6 which says either to inc. accel. time or reduce load. I tried a second new Baldor with the same outcome. Now, hit with a production emergency I took an old US motor I had lying around that had the same specs, wired it up and it started right up and ran perfectly. Note: The Baldor was then sent to a Baldor warranty shop that found no problems what so ever. I then retried the Baldor and it immediately faulted. Two new Baldors from motion ind. that were cross referenced to be identical replacements???

Would appreciate any and all help!!! rp.

powerflex fault 6

are these newer high effency motors? you may need to change your settings

They're labled "Standard-E" (efficiency) other than that I'm not sure. I'm a retired aviation mechanic and not too knowledgeable when it comes to VFD's etc.

Hii Type7,
Don't be carried away by the motors nameplate specifications. You can try out a few things on the Baldor motors.
(1)increase the acceleration time on the VFD.Reconnect and ran each of the Baldor motors and see what happens.
(2)alternatively, you can reduce the load on the Baldor motors and see if the VFD trips.
(3)you can also lower torque boost and see the effect on the Baldor motors.

If motors keep tripping in (1) and (2) above,keep reducing the load or increasing acelleration time till tripping stops while using a moving iron type ammeter to measure the motors amperage. Compare with actual nameplate ratings.Finally,since the vendor certified the motors to be o.k, remove both Baldor motors for use in applications requiring lower torque.

Powerflex 4 Fault 6

bce123:

P039 is 3, PO33 is 4)
(Baldor VM3558T)
(Leeson Mod C145T17FC2J Cat# 120038.00)

OKOYE I'll try and let you know