Structured text

Jmoffat

I am a student learning PLC's. Everything we have learned so has been in ladder logic. The Book mentions structured text programming. What programming language is used most frequently for programming AB controllers? What language for other popular brands?:unsure:

It depends of the hardware manufacturer, CPU class and intended purpose of the application.
Ladder Logic is by far the mostly used "language" and it is probably supported by all manufacturers; to my knowledge, structured text programming is supported by the Allen-Bradley (Logix Class, Micro8x0)and later Siemens, Mitsubishi and OMRON CPU hardware.

a little more information ...

let's assume [gosh, I hate that word] that you're dealing with an Allen-Bradley ControlLogix or CompactLogix system ...

here are some links that you might find useful ...

first is a forum post that shows a quick sample of RLL (Relay Ladder Logic), STX (Structured Text), and FBD (Function Block Diagrams) programming languages ... (we'll let SFC (Sequential Function Charts) and Equipment Phases stay on the back burner for now) ... the next links are some easy reading on the subjects of the STX and FBD languages ...

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=428167&postcount=11

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/pm/1756-pm007_-en-p.pdf

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/pm/1756-pm009_-en-p.pdf

note that your copy of RSLogix5000 might – or might not – support these "extra" languages ... you can click "Help – About" from the RSLogix5000 main menu – and then the More Info button to see which "add on" options you've purchased ...

as always, the more detailed the information that you give us – then the more detailed we can make our answers ...

and welcome to the forum ...

i know you are a student, and this is a bit off the topic, but revelant.

i learned programming on the job, just like many others.