complete newb AB plc questions

hEY

Going to have to say hi to everyone to begin with as this is my first post here.

I am currently in a CO-OP program with a company for machine maintenance. The job entails lots of mechanical work but what I have seen and what I lack in is tons of PLC troubleshooting aswell as troubleshooting circuits. I am now in the process of building an at home PLC.

The setup I ordered comes with a micrologix 1200 PLC but from what I read this is going to require the use of a rslogix 500.

My thought process is because this is just for my own personal training for a basic to more advanced level, would it make sense for me to replace the micrologix 1200 with a micrologix 1000 (specifically the 1761-L10BXB) as this would be a lot more cost effective using the rslogix starter lite.

thanks for any information you can share or any advice to help tackle this project.

you could get a click plc from automation direct. software is free....depending on what features you need, they start at $69

the memory has fixed locations for each datatype, and a basic but decent instruction set.

good to start off with.....and physically small....fits in locations where many others wont

Last edited:
well specifically I want it to be an allen bradley PLC. the micrologix 1000 I am considering purchasing is about 100$ the cost is somewhat negligible in price compared to the click plc's.

Really the main question I have before I buy the micrologix 1000 1761-L10BXB is that it is compatible with the rslogix starter lite and maybe some pitfalls i could run into trying to run this setup.

The free version of RSLogix 500 will work with the two lowest-end MicroLogix controllers: the MicroLogix 1000 (part numbers beginning with 1761) and the MicroLogix 1100 (part numbers beginning with 1763).

Get it from here:

http://www.ab.com/linked/programmablecontrol/plc/micrologix/downloads.html