Panelview communications

CENTER

Lifetime Supporting Member
I was wondering if some one would have some insight in to what I am doing wrong. I have a Panelview 1500 Plus that has been communicating with a MicroLogix 1400 using DF1, and now I am trying to set it up for Ethernet communications. I upgraded the firmware from 5.0 to 5.10 used the transfer wizard to download the program and thought I was in business. The program ran OK for about 2 minutes and then could not find the MicroLogix tried it again could not get it to communicate. Down loaded the firmware again played around transferring the program and it ran for a few minutes, and that is a hit or miss deal. Every thing works fine if I test the program from my laptop and I removed the switch and used a crossover cable between the Panelview and the MicroLogix and that didn’t work. Tec Connect thinks it’s the Panalview but I have my doubts. Since I am basically an electrician with a computer I could use some expert advice. Thank in advance for your time.

FactoryTalk 6.10.jpg

Fault.jpg

panelview.jpg

Is it possible there's a duplicate IP address on the network? The fact that it works when the network is reduced to two devices makes me think there is a problem with the network itself or how some part of it is configured.

I have caused issues by adding a duplicate IP address to our networks here, and one time I got away with it (no apparent symptoms, I noticed it by luck and fixed it), one time the device detected the dupliacte IP, reported the condition and stopped talking, and the other time I had symptoms like yours.

No the only things on the network are my laptop, the panelview and the PLC plus I tried the crossover cable.

Did you receive any messages/error log file while you create the application file.

1. Have you choose the target device in the RS Link comm [Enterprise] - or

2. Have you select/click 'Replace communications' option box in the transfer utility. [inside the 'When Application Run' box]