duty cycle

sreejithv

hi
i am new to plc i was asked to write a program for two pumps(1 stand by and other running)which will run in normal way like when triggered. But when the operator press the cyclic duty button without interrupting the process next available pump should come in sequence.

i was able to find the next available pump but but cant make it in standby queue and
how to make the standby pump run when the running pump stop.

thanks in advance

welcome to the site.
This apears to be the school question for this year.
there is an earlier post. so you do need to search the site.
please let us know which PLC you intend to use.
also you need to atleast attempt the work out the program first.
draw/program the control for one motor.
ZIP up your program and attach it

program

I am doing it in twido suite
please see the program i am unable to link the cyclic duty to the ladder.
:oops:
even it is school thing i am doing for the first time.
please help

Can you draw it up as a flow chart? What is the sequence?

This happens until..
Then this until...
Then this until...
etc.

The first and most important part of any automation project is to define its proper operation. Don't start writing code first...

If cyclic duty is selected, then the duty selection will be rotated/altered
each time a pump stops. The next pump to start is the next in the duty
list; the next pump to stop is the pump that has been running longest.
For a 2-pump station, the duty cyclic duty list will be 1-2, then2-1.

If any pump has a fault or is unavailable, it is not included in the duty list.
If a pump fails, then the next pump in the list is started immediately and
the faulted pump is taken out of duty.
maximum run time is 12 hours.