PV 1400E to PV+ 1500 question

JonM

Hello all

I am trying to replace a PV 1400E using RIO with a new PV+ 1500 with a 2711P-RN6 card. The panel is being replaced as the brightness has gone down quite a bit and it isn't legible without turning off the lights in the room, the panel still works though.
I've never used RIO before and have only basic PV+ experience.
On paper (from Rockwell) it seems quite straightforward but I haven't been able to get it to work.

I followed the migration guide by Rockwell but the 2711P-RN6 card seems dead.

There are multiple threads on this kind of migration and after reading them I am somewhat closer (changed the pins on the blue hose connection) but I also wish that I had seen them before agreeing to do this.

In one thread on this site I saw speculation on 2711P-RN6 not being supported by FT-ME v6.0, which is what I have, but I have not found this information anywhere else to verify it. Will the communication card not work with this version of FT-ME?

When I connect the system neither of the lights on the 2711P-RN6 light up and the PLC5 channel starts blinking red.

One thing I've read about is autoconfigure for RIO, it's on my to-do list but I'm hesitant about changing something in the PLC since I'm setting the PV+ up exactly like the old panel. If I run autoconfigure and it doesn't work, will I be able to connect it to the old panel, run it again and get back to the old one working?

One thing that confuses me is that in the PV+ you can designate a device number for the panel, is that the same as a rack number?

If the PanelView Plus terminal that you have is a "v6" logic module (low-profile, cast aluminum, with an SD card instead of a CF card) then the 2711P-RN6 will not work as a RIO device. Only the Data Highway Plus driver is supported for the PV+6 and the 2711P-RN6.

Do you have the ability to move the PanelView to the DH+ network for this PLC-5 controller ? Is the PLC-5 equipped with Ethernet ?