Is anybody using 802.11 (WiFi) for Ethernet linking?

tgreif

I'm curious if anybody is using 802.11b or 11g to link their plcs and/or OITs in their plants. I've seen alot of activity in the proprietary spread spectrum Ethernet radio area. They're mostly touted as a means to link devices wirelessly and avoid the security concerns of using an "open" wireless technology like 802.11 that D-link, Linksys and others sell at Best Buy. Theory is "If you can't understand the wireless protocol, you probably aren't gonna try and hack it." There is some truth to that logic.

However, it's hard to avoid the attractive pricing of some of the WiFi stuff out there. With WEP and the new WPA encryption, security seems less of a concern, as long as it's properly applied.

I'd like to know how everybody out there is dealing with this issue. I work in the water and wastewater field and AWWA (American Waterworks Association) and WEF (Water Environment Federation) have done an excellent job of scaring the bejesus out of everybody with security concerns at the treatment plants. I'm not convinced that there are people out there actively looking to mess with the return sludge pumps. It's prudent to be cautious, but I think it's gone a little overboard.

Tim

Today I connected wireless access point on AB PLC5/05 network it work nice.
The problem is it stop to work after about 60 foot.
The manufacture wrote that it suppose to work 300 foot.
I put D-Link unit and I still have a same problem.
I treid it at home and still have short distance.
When it will work I will wary about security.
I made line for recycle cars oil filters for company who dealing with all the mass of Batteries Biological wast and industrial wast.
The smell is not somthing you would like to smell.
All the environment are polluted.
When I comming there I try to short my staieng as I can.The smell is stick to my car my tools my computer and my clothes.