RSLogix 5000 PIDE tunig

RLT

Hi,
This is my first post and I am relatively new to programming so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I am trying to tune a PIDE in RSLogix using Expertune software. I am having problems telling the software how to determine if the loop is in Auto or Manual. It asks for a Mode and I can browse to the PIDE parameters to tell it the path. I am not sure which parameter to choose and the ones that I have tried have not worked. The problem is that the PIDE has both an Auto and Manual parameter and choosing just one doesn't work. I am hoping that someone here has done this setup before and can help get me through it. Thank you in advance for any assistance you can give me.

first question: why are you using Expertune – rather than the PIDE's own built-in autotune feature? ...

see this link for a demo:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=492660&postcount=1

maybe you didn't purchase the autotune option with your RSLogix5000 package? ...

see this link to tell for sure:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=491581&postcount=2

next question:

why are you using the PIDE instruction (in Function Block Diagram format) – rather than the much simpler PID instruction (in Ladder Logic)? ...

many people think that the "Enhanced" name of the PIDE instruction means that it will give "enhanced" control over a particular process ... it won't ... see the picture at the bottom of this link for a demo:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=504603&postcount=1

in short, you'll get a LOT more "bells and whistles" settings with the PIDE (some people say "too many more") – but the actual control over the process isn't going to be any better than what a regular old PID instruction provides ...

moving right along ...

frankly I've never tried using Expertune with the PIDE instruction ... but I'll give it a shot later when I get to the lab ...