What does Rslogix Password really protect?

gbradley

Lifetime Supporting Member
I was reading Phil's Newsletter, and he said "If you can do fine without remote capability do not install a connection to the outside world."

This week I found out a good reason for the above statement, and something that I did not realize before.
I was falsely under the impression that if somebody wanted to log in to your PLC and change the programming, that the password would protect the PLC.
Password protecting a program in RSLogix only protects it from being opened and modified with RSLogix.

Well, RSLogix is not the only way that somebody can mess with your code.

I was playing with Archie's AdvancedHMI this week. Wow! This is very cool. Thank-you very much.
I'm no expert, but even I was able to generate an interface.
I was able to log onto my Micrologix1400 over the network, and monitor values, and change bits.
Definitely a game changer.
I haven't even begun to dream up all of the possibilities.

After having created this interface I realized that it doesn't matter if a ladder logic file is protected with a password or not, you can examine or change the bits.

So I guess my epiphany is that no matter what, if your machinery is connected to the net, you better have a secure and thoroughly tested firewall.

I'm surprised by this, any HMI can be configured to interact with a PLC, it's kinda the way it works. HMIs can read/write data to PLCs and change status bits in the code as required for the process. Its a fundamental isn't it?

Technically, your logic will not change and cannot be changed by an HMI platform, you do in fact need RSLogix to change any code. Certainly changing data within a PLC does not equal to logic changes in the code.