need help!

mike3475

we have SLC500 PLC ,programming with RSLogix500.I have the program files (.RSS) in my hand.I am a beginner for SLC500 PLC.I want to troubleshoot the PLC.Can someone show me how to open this program file?
Thanks!

suggestion:

post your program file here – and tell us what problem you're trying to troubleshoot ... you'll have to zip the file before you post it (forum rule) ... look for the "Attach Files" button near the end of the "Post Reply" window ...

we'll try to help ...

This program file is for DC motor drive of GOSS Web Offset Press,so I didn't program this file,I don't have RSLogix500 software,I know it is expensive.Can I have another way to open it?
Thanks!

If you have the file post it here (zip it first) someone can open it for you and print it to a PDF form for you to view it.

You will have to get RSLogix500 to open the .RSS file, no other way.

here are three of the files printed out ...

these might not do you much good – since there aren't any comments in the files you've posted ... this is what happens when someone "uploads" the programs directly from the processor – since the comments are NEVER stored inside the processor – only on the programmer's computer ...

suggestion: find someone local who has experience – and the software – who can help you with this ...

good luck with it ...

Last edited:
if you have to hook up to these things, you'll need a special cable - in addition to the RSLogix500 software ...

according to these programs, you have SLC-5/02 processors - and a simple "null-modem" cable won't work for communications ...

note that an Ethernet cable will "fit" - but it will NOT work - and will probably damage your computer's Ethernet port if you try connecting it this way ...