Temperature Input for Micro 810

paulfisk

I have an Allen Bradley Micro 810 controller and I want to be able to wire a temperature input that will control an output (heater) so when air temperature goes too low it turns on heater when air temperature reaches high point it turns off heater. I can do the programming part I just need to figure out what kind of sensor would work and cheapest way possible to accomplish this.

I want to use 120 VAC if possible but it can also be 24 VDC.

I had one guy say that I could use a 120V household thermostat somehow but I can't quite figure out how this would work.

Any recommendations? ( I am really new to this stuff)

Paul Fisk

I want to use 120 VAC if possible but it can also be 24 VDC.
For what purpose do you want to use 120 VAC? In a PLC, there are various voltages, one for powering the PLC itself, another for PLC input devices, and/or another for the PLC outputs. All 3 voltage levels can be the same, different, or mixed. Also there are two major types of PLC inputs and outputs: digital (on or off), and analog (continuously varying between a min and max value). The analog I/O can be Voltage or Current based. So you have to learn enough to figure out what you need. I suggest getting a free online copy of the Micro810 Programmable Controllers User Manual from the Allen Bradley web site.

Which one of the 4 models of Micro810's do you plan to use? One has 120 VAC inputs, two have 24 VDC inputs, and one has 12 VDC inputs.