EthernetIP Sockets Question

Cup O Noodles

Hi all.

I have been tasked with creating a socket routine within an RSLogix 5000 file to replace the need for Interchange.

The hardware I am using for testing is an EN2T and an L72 processor. I wrote a java program to listen for sockets over the network.

I have been using the Ethernet/IP Socket Interface (forget the tech note number) as a guide.

When I try to execute the OpenConnection MSG I get an error.

I am a beginner when it comes to socket programming in RSLogix 5000 so if anyone could shed some light on this for me that would be great.

Thanks in advance

Hi,
Although i'm not familiar with L72 processor, i'm working in sockets with ML1400 and i also could not put OpenConnection (it's the only one remaining to put working). Following the manual, you get on the N file to send "IPAddr?port=xxx". I already read that we should put the message in ASCII in reverse byte order but i could not do it... problably it's my problem and also yours...

I looked up the error code and this is what I got.

KB0006: A-B Ethernet ActiveX Control - ControlLogix Unsolicited Message Generates error 16#0008 (Unsupported Service Requested)

SYMPTOMS

When using a MSG block from a ControlLogix processor to send unsolicited messages to an ASABTCP ActiveX Control the following error is generated in the MSG block:

Error Code: 16#0008
Error Path: ENET
Error Text: Unsupported Service Requested

CAUSE

RSLinx is running on same PC as A-B Ethernet ActiveX Control.

RESOLUTION

Shut down RSLinx service on PC running ASABTCP and retry MSG.

Interchange ? That's a name I haven't heard in.... [rushes off to get lightsaber]

The error message pretty much means what it says; the Ethernet module is returning a reply to the controller denying that it can perform that service code. I think that the error message is being returned by the module itself, rather than by the target device.