S7-300 Analog handling

steveinlags

Hi all. Can anybody help? I am new to S7 and have been thrown in at the deep end. I need to look at a couple of analog inputs and drive an analog output depending upon the input values. Can someone please provide some sample code that shows which blocks are used and how the signals are handled?
I did the Step7 training course awhile back, but PID's were not covered.

(I need to control a pump speed to maintain a constant level in a tank.)
Many Thanks
[email protected]

Hello!
You can read the analog value direct from the input if you want to!
just type L PIW XXX and use the value same in the other direction T PQW XXX.
Or you could use the scale and unscale blocks (don´t remember the FC number check the library maybe fc104?)

max analog value is 27648 = 10V, 20mA depending on what settings you have in the hardware.

hello Steve;

If you want to do simple PID on S7 CPUs, try the PID blocks provided by Siemens: FB41 is the analog PID block, FB42 (with FB43) is the discrete version.

If you want to use FB41, call it in OB35 (cyclic interrupt, 100 ms); plug in the address of the analog input (PIWxxx) into the PV_PER parameter (proces value, periphery), set up the gain value, and integral and differential parameters, if needed. You will read an outpout value that you can send to your analog adfdress (PQWxxx)at parameter LMN_PER (manipulated value, periphery).

Of course, there are many other inputs and outputs to FB41; most of them are either set-up parameters (like I_sel, value=1 to use the integral parameter (as in a PI controller), value = 0 to not use it (as in a straight P controller)), or loop parameters. You will have to read through the documentation for the FB41 and determine the values for each parameter required for your process.