New to PLC RS Logix 500 user.

Lihirian

Excuse me if my questions sounds stupid but, I am totally new to PLC, and would like to learn about the type of PLC we use here.

I have done a simple circuit using RS logix 500, one input and one output in series.

Input is an (examine if Open I:0/1) and the output is an (output energise).

Connecting it up practically, I have used a normally closed PB for the input and a lamp for the output.

As it is, I assumed that the lamp should be on but it isnt. Why? I have downoaded to the PLC.
:unsure:

Ok, this is another diagram i did. the normally closed input was connected to a normally clossed push button in the practical. I assumed any normally open contact if pressed should turn on the lamp in the output but it didnt. Did I do it right? All normally open PB were connected to the XIC inputs.

NC.jpg

But Bernie, correct me if I am wrong but the input I:0/5 in my diagram should be connected to a normally closed PB/contact and not a normally open push button/contact.

Yes when I used normally open set of contacts it operated correctly, all my inputs were normally open push buttons.
So was I wrong when assuming that all XIO in the diagrams should be connected to normally closed contacts?

You could relate any NC (Normally Closed) or NO (Normally Open) inputs to any XIO (Examine If Open) or XIC (Examine if Closed) ladder logic instructions; just make sure that the "logic result" is the one intended!

The concept of the type of pushbutton or other 'normal' input condition does not control the type of contacts available in the program.

Essential safe inputs, like a STOP button are often wired Normally Closed to the input pin. The 'Normal' state results in the input circuit being ON. Pressing the pushbutton turns off the input circuit. The input circuit being Off is taken as a command to Stop. This also covers a case if the wires to the Stop pushbutton were accidently cut. This also yields a safe action - stopping.