RIO interface configuration

Maxtronick

Hello.

I'm new at this forum and I have some trouble to solve.
I have here a HMI PV900 with RIO interface and I want to test this interface.
This HMI is out of it machine, so I cannot test with PLC that PV's program expects.

Then for this job I have here a allen bradley rack with a PLC 5/40 that contains RIO interface.

My problem is to configure a simple RIO network between this PLC 5/40 and PV900.
I'm new with PLC programming too, so I don't have knowledge enough for this job.
I tried to do it reading datasheet and forums.
But there's lot details to consider and I'm not getting it.

PS: My PV already has an application running and wouldn't want to change it for this test.

I hope someone help me.

(A) is there already a program in the PLC-5/40 – or is this a "SPARE" processor that you're allowed to use for "TESTING" purposes? ... if there is a program in the PLC then post that file (example: MAX.RSP) here to the forum ... if there is NO file already in the processor, then put one there (even if it's a "blank" file ... make sure that the processor will run without a "fault" condition popping up ... then save that file and post it here to the forum ...

(B) look on the back of the PV900 and get the Catalog number (example: 2711-XXXX) ... also get the Firmware Revision number (example: FRN 3.10) ... post these numbers here to the forum ...

(C) do you already have an existing program in the PV900? ... if you do, post that program file (example: MAX.PBA or MAX.PVA) here to the forum ...

(D) are you using a "blue-hose" cable to connect between the PV900 and the PLC-5/40? ...

note that you'll have to ZIP all of your files before you post them (forum rule) ...

remember that we can't see your system – we only know what you tell us ... the more details you give us, the more detailed our answers can be ...

in the best case scenario this would be a three minute job ... here are the basics ...