VBA code Guru's

dbh6

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'am using VBA code in FT View SE software. Ok just to put it out there I have no experience with VBA, but i was able to compile this code from using AB's Knowledge. Here is the brief summary of the code, Their is an HMI tag of boolean type that I created called "ControlNode". Now the the fname is point to a text file in the C folder and then "exits" wich is of type boolean uses the function FileThere() to see of the specified text file called "test" is in that folder. If the Text file called "test" which is a .txt file is in that folder then, the VBA code writes a 1 to the HMI tag that i created "ControlNode". If the text file is not their then the VBA code will write a 0 to the "ControlNode".

I tested this by putting a numeric display and linking it to the "ControlNode" and it works, however if you noticed at the beginning of the VBA code i have this VBA code called when "Sub Display_AnimationStart()" which is basically when the display is called in my case the main display, and thats when it runs the VBA code only at the start of the animation, but i'm tryin to make it so not on animation start, but during the whole time the runtime is running, i tried numerous things, but hit a road block, because i don't have experience with VBA. So i posted the code below, and if you can help me with that i would appreciate it.Also of you want to modify and post the code feel free to do so because again i may already have some unnecessary code in their.

Code is below

Option Explicit
'Global declarations
Public MyTagGroup As TagGroup

Sub Display_AnimationStart()
Dim fname As String
Dim tagValue As Tag
Dim exists As Boolean

fname = "C:\Installs\test.txt"
exists = FileThere(fname)

If MyTagGroup Is Nothing Then
'Create a tag group based on the Area that the Display is located in
Set MyTagGroup = Application.CreateTagGroup(Me.AreaName)

'Add tags to tag group
'HMI Tag Example 1 – system tag
MyTagGroup.Add "ControlNode"

End If