Export I/O Config - RSLogix 5k

mmain1

I am new to Allen Bradley programming. What I'm trying to do is transfer an I/O card including all it's configuration to another project.

I have 2 1715-AENTR cards in the controller PLC. I've called them ENET_A and ENET_B. They have identical but separate I/O racks connected to them. So I manually configured all the I/O racks under ENET_A, but I would like to duplicate ENET_A to create ENET_B.

What I've tried so far:
1) Edit-Copy: Copying the ENET_A AENTR card and pasting it to the controller only produces an unconfigured AENTR card on the controller.
2) Export to L5K, duplicate all of ENET_A changing the names where applicable to create ENET_B such as module names and parent id's. When I try to import this I get either 'Not enough storage to complete this operation' or RSLogix just crashes.
3) I have successfully imported ENET_B into a temporary project by deleting the ENET_A section in the L5K, I thought this might get passed the 'Not enough storage' issue and it did. So now I have my actual project configured with ENET_A and a temporary project that has ENET_B correctly configured. I would like to export the ENET_B from the temp project and import it into my actual project.

Any ideas?

Last edited:
I don't know if it's even worth trying to I/O Import/Export between the projects...
You could Copy/Paste each individual module starting with the comms bridges in no time.
If the Copy/Paste does not work is probably because of the CPUs types and
firmware revisions; you might not be able to use the same hardware (firmware included) using the same settings on two different platforms.

That may be the case in most situations. This project has somewhere in the neighborhood of 450 I/O cards.

Time is less of a concern to me than accuracy. The likelihood of me getting all 450 cards configured correctly again on the first try is pretty slim. If I make an exact copy of ENET_A it would be guaranteed to be right.